i30 Owners Club

I30 PD 8 inch sub install

lil_weg · 15 · 7082

Offline lil_weg

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Australia
To get started, car audio may look confusing with all the numbers flying around to the uninitiated, but its really quite basic once you get your head into it. I admit I am an engineer so this kind of stuff just clicks with me but if you need help on your own car I'm just a PM away!

So the I30 has an okay stock audio system, but its not going to win any awards so I quickly got to work. In previous cars it was simply replace the headunit, which gives you RCA low level outputs to fronts, rears and a subwoofer, which made installs a breeze! Since the I30 has such a beautiful (limiting in audio adjustability still) headunit, there are a few things to consider.

It is possible to simply put speaker level inputs into amplifiers these days but I cannot stress enough how this is not the best way to feed a signal to your amplifiers. The high level speaker inputs are noisy and any noise from power wires, the alternator and other electrical sources will be 10x worse once amplified.

The better way and industry standard is either an audio processor (see Audison Bit Ten) or a line level converter, which takes high level speaker inputs and gives you a clean low level RCA output to feed your amps. I'm not talking about the cheap line out converters either, Audio Control make excellent products for this job, with level adjustability and safety features to help you prevent distortion and restores bass to the signal as many factory radios remove bass at higher volumes to save their rubbish stock speakers. Depending on the model you get, there are different perks:
LC2i - Gives you accubass bass restoration adjustability, bass output, main output (amplify speakers)

LC6i - Allows 6 channels in, has channel summing (ie if one speaker has full range audio, the LC6i can feed all outputs this signal) and allows level adjustability