• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Has anyone tried to wash the filter.

If so, was it sucessful and did it work ok

Or

Did you have to purchase a new one as it just disintegeated........
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline sundiz

• Technical Advisor

• fi Finland
      Helsinki
I have not tried to wash it with any liquid. I guess you could vacuum the larger crap out. I usually have a lot of birch seeds etc. in the filter. But at least I have little particles of dust and pollen which does not come out when I tried to clean it with pressurised air. But i am not so sure how the "cardboard" filter would act to water... I would not be surprised if the filter became soggy and lost its shape. I usually change the filter once or twice a year (to the bit more expensive ones with active carbon).
  • i30 cw 1.6crdi -08

Offline joebris

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Brisbane Qld
yeah, I wash mine out , left it out in the sun for half a day to dry then a spay of Glenn 20, came up about 50% clearer if you have a air compressor you could do a much better job however never going to be new again.

You can get news for about $20
  • i30 MY14 Trophy Manual Petrol

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
Has anyone tried to wash the filter.

If so, was it sucessful and did it work ok

Or

Did you have to purchase a new one as it just disintegeated........

I changed mine this very day Lester, it didn't cost a fortune and wasn't a terribly big job therefor I don't feel that being a cheapskate is really needed in this case.  Having said that, I can be as cheap as most other, except maybe Dazz  :crazy1:, when needed....

C'mon Lester get some of the money spent  :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :goodjob: :goodjob: :goodjob:

Offline Shambles

• Admin

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club