i30 Owners Club

How to Get Good MPG / Consuption ! Low Fuel Consumption

Offline Jancko995

• 1st Gear

• si Slovenia
      Koper

• West Part
Hello everybody

So I'm an calm economical driver, that's what economical driving is all about!

So here are the things you NEED to know / change to get you going:

- IF YOU SEE a red light / people going to cross / obsicales / that you are going to fast from the car infront of you,  SLOW DOWN or RELESE THE THROTLE!      
    I always face palm in my head when I see people keeping their foot on the throtle for NO REASON! and then go for the brakes...when ofcourse, they are forced to brake or they would crash.   If you can just predict what is going to hapen, see what's hapening around you, and set your throtle acordingly you will save FUEL and BRAKES..     
    (So next time try playing a game that you lower you usage of brakes.)

-Use the amount of throtle that bearly keeps you at your desirable speed
 I think that cars have like "throtle zones" in wich they set the enginge consuptionn/power.  There's like: "Acelerating zone" in wich you gain speed,  "Get redy engine" zone  in wich engines predicting that you will acelerate soon. In this zone you burn more fuel, than necesary.  And "Economy zone" wich you get the best of usage. This probably depend from car to car, because some cars have certain speeds  that are the best at the certain gear.    -> Like my mom's i30  is like 3rd (40km/h) 4-60km/h  ,..
     Have to say that not all cars can get to the "Economy" zone,  it depend how much does the car's coputer interfier into it. I found out this when I took the car to the mechanich for high MPG on the highway, and when I got it back,  this zone wasn the same anymore..  Now there's a big interfierenc of computer wich regulates the consuption, I can't tweak the usage that I could once.

-Get to your crusing speed fast (but not to fast)