i30 Owners Club

2010 Hyundai i30 1.6CRDI Estate, 150k miles, should I buy?

Offline robodelfy

• 2nd Gear

• UK
Hi

I'm pretty desperate for a car as mine just died, but its hard with the coronavirus lockdown! I've just seen a Hyundai i30 1.6CRDI Estate, 2010, 150k miles on the clock. 3 previous owners, full service history, 23 stamps in the book, been serviced very 6\8k miles, had a new clutch fitted last year and major service : Fuel, Oil, Air & Pollen filter. New front discs & pads. And new Goodyear tyres

It's £1800. What do you reckon? I've never bought a car with such high mileage, do you think its best to wait for something with lower mileage? I just read on this forum some people getting well upwards of 200k, even some saying they were above 300 or 400k miles in these cars! And it seems like its been looked after

Any advice would be great, I'm totally new to Hyundai
thanks
  • i30 1.6

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Welcome "Robo" for those sort of "dollars" sounds pretty good to me, but I guess local members would have a better idea on comparative value.

The service history and the fact the clutch has recently been replaced are big pluses in my book. If it passes a thorough driving test I wouldn't be too concerned about mileage. That is not high by diesel standards.

I guess one of the bigger worries is being able to give a car with I assume a Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) good regular 30 minute plus Motorway runs during the lock down to ensure it doesn't clog. Unless you are employed in an essential service and do this sort of driving every week or two as a minimum?

Covid 19 is certainly making life complicated for everyone!  :crazy2:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline robodelfy

• 2nd Gear

• UK