i30 Owners Club

Windscreen washer - low pressure(?) in passenger side

Offline badgerfruit

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
Morning all.
Total noob here, I use my car to get to work and back and haul things from A to B so please bear with any wrong terminology or assumptions in my post!  It's a UK RHD i30, 2012-Present "GD" flavour.

So the problem is that the windscreen washer on the passenger side doesn't seem to have any pressure behind it, it just dribbles out.  I've made a little video:

I've poked around with pins and given the nozzle itself a good wipe.  There's no water on the ground under/near the car so I don't think there's a leak anywhere, maybe just a blockage?

The driver side works perfectly fine - for the video I shoved a cloth over it as it'd soak me otherwise hahaha.  Suspect a blocked pipe but I don't know how to get to the tubes, I've done my best to try to look without pulling the car apart but the tubes seem to be embedded in the plastic with no obvious way to access them :(

Oh, I might be a noob but I have spanners, screwdrivers and a dangerous willingness to press "Do not press" buttons! So open to trying anything without resorting to taking the car to a garage! 

Many thanks for reading, I hope that I can get some good advice from the forum members!
« Last Edit: June 16, 2021, 12:13:43 by badgerfruit »
  • I30

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Probably blocked in tube with gunge from window screen additives .

Open bonnet and trace tube from washer bottle.
Along the right side wing you should see a joining point.

Split by gently pulling the side nearst window.

You need to blow thro', I've used a foot pump.

Hope that sorts it but if not then may need to blow from nozzle as blockage may be in branch.

Will have to remove nozzle.

That just pull out, care as held in by lugs which are plastic so may break if brittle.