i30 Owners Club

09 i30 petrol won't start

Offline Hedgey17

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Gwent
Hi, need some advice. I bought a i30 edition petrol 09 plate last week  and was driving fine, got in the car today and it won't start it's just silent wont even try to turn over. All the ignition lights are on theres no warning lights except for an annoying chime that sounds like a police siren. All lights, radio, windows and wipers work so don't think it's the battery.  Any help greatly appreciated.
  • 09 Hyundai i30 edition petrol

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Do you have a 2nd key?

If so, have you tried it?

Does that work or still same?

Did you buy private or dealer as of latter then get them to check it out.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline nzenigma

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      QLD
Hi, need some advice. I bought a i30 edition petrol 09 plate last week  and was driving fine, got in the car today and it won't start it's just silent wont even try to turn over. All the ignition lights are on theres no warning lights except for an annoying chime that sounds like a police siren. All lights, radio, windows and wipers work so don't think it's the battery.  Any help greatly appreciated.

Kristal the Ball is whispering "SM". :wink:

The sound you hear is the starter motor running free; its gear, that normally engages the fly wheel, is faulty.

A swift clout with a hammer may free it. It will play up again, but at least you will know if Kristal is correct.
  • FD 2.0L CW (office); GD 1.8L & CRDi; BMW Z3 M; Audi A4 Quattro; Nissan 350Z HR

Offline Hedgey17

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Gwent