i30 Owners Club

Periodic coughing

Offline Fireguinness

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Kent
Hello fellow i30 owners. I have a problem I can’t seem to resolve with my car infrequently coughing, particularly in lower gears. I’ve replaced the fuel filter, all glow plugs plugs, a new set of injectors and now even my local Hyundai dealers are stumped - any ideas?
  • i30 crdi

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Have you had the car from new or just recently acquired it?

I ask as if just recently acquired, wonder if a problem prior to your ownership.

Have they checked ecu correctly set up with latest updates?

Re fuel filter...... has the fuel been possibly  contaminated
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
 :welcome: Fireguinness,

Just out of interest what year and mileage. Not that that will make much difference in this instance, but always nice to have that info. Yes, those three things would certainly be the three most obvious. If it were a petrol I would have suggested the ignition plug leads next, but don't think a diesel has anything like that.

Been an expensive wild goose chase for you so far! With labour I'm guessing you are way more than a 1000 euros out of pocket already!  :eek: :sweating:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline mickd

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Tura Beach ( Deep Deep South Coast) NSW
Hello fellow i30 owners. I have a problem I can’t seem to resolve with my car infrequently coughing, particularly in lower gears. I’ve replaced the fuel filter, all glow plugs plugs, a new set of injectors and now even my local Hyundai dealers are stumped - any ideas?

G'Day fireguinness,

:i30: