i30 Owners Club

Exhaust Smoke Worry? - 2.0 diesel...

i30manUK · 21 · 11460

Offline i30manUK

• 3rd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      England
As some of you know, I'm new to diesel, so I want to know if I should be concerned or not...

I drove behind the i30 this morning and was disturbed to see smoke coming from the exhaust every time it accelerated. The car is almost new. Is this normal or should I call the dealer? Obviously it's not visible when you'r driving the car, so has anyone else driven behind their diesel and noticed the same thing?

G

Offline Shambles

• Admin

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
I've seen smoke once, in my rear view mirror, when I was joining a motorway and I floored the pedal. I haven't had anyone else drive Fergie yet, never mind drive behind her.

I often see diesel whisp on other cars - even new ones - when they're starting an overtaking manoeuvre on the motorways; I wouldn't be too concerned.

PS, it's my first diesel too.
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Should be O/K M8.. My wife has followed me a few times and commented that I need to give up smoking ... (apparently it's only when I change gears and accellerate..)

If it was using oil I'd be worried ... but haven't had to put a drop in except at the 7500 oil change...
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Is it more noticable when cold?
If so then I would presume OK as the engine is not working at optimum temperature so you will probably get unspent fuel in system.
But if when hot may be a problem
(ps I'm not technically minded so only my hunch)

Try this if you dare.