i30 Owners Club

How do I use the search feature?

Offline RoyBoy48

• 1st Gear

• england England
      UK, Midlands
Hi, Dazzler, I'm new to the club (though I 'inherited' my wife's i30 when she got a new car - but she hadn't been a member either).  I'm having trouble searching - I admit I'm not good at searching at the best of times - trying to find info on parts numbers for my 2011 130 1.6 CRDi Comfort 5dr Estate after clipping a low wall with the front bumper while reversing (my own fault - I couldn't see the wall and thought I was clear).  It pulled the bumper/front wing away from the body and that ripped out the fog light and broke the lining under the wheel arch.  Both need replacing.  I also have a problem with the window controls in the driver's armrest and the door cable is broken but my local dealer wants to charge silly money for doing the work (usual statement - false I now know - that eg the cable can't be sourced/replaced alone, I need to replace the actuator as well, etc etc). I am happy to go to order the parts I need but the parts department is also playing awkward and doesn't want to let me know the parts numbers.  So I need to do multiple searches and the first - for the window switch - ran into a problem (I sent a message about this) and I can't access the spare parts list/manual that Lorian posted way back.  Can you help/advise please - or is there a technical doc that explains how to search and keywords for this site?  Many thanks in anticipation! :-[
  • 2011 I30 CRDi Comfort Estate 1.6 Manual Ice Blue

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Hi Again Roy,

Don't be embarrassed that is what we are here for. We had a member Gerard who was amazing with part numbers but he has decided to move on unfortunately. I think he felt under appreciated or got frustrated by lack of feedback from members he helped at times.