i30 Owners Club

Thinking of buying older i30 budget max £2500

Offline smallzoo

• 1st Gear

• crewe, cheshire
Looking for an i30 for my daughter to share. she is a carer so has to be reliable etc

We only do about 5k miles a year

so
first , question diesel or petrol ?
second, at the age we are looking 09/10 etc can they rust

any other advice

• i30

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
At 5k best to go for petrol.

My son has my 2007 and still looking brill.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
I agree with eye30, for that sort of mileage petrol would be better, and the 1.4 petrol doesn't seem to be that much less economical than the 1.6 diesel.

The paintwork on my old 2011 car was suspect in places, it looked very thin on certain edges like along the front edge of the rear doors and around the top edges of the tail-gate. It's not bubbling up or flaking off, but it has an orange tint to it as though surface rust is showing through the paint. The spray coverage on my car may have been patchy, I don't know whether it's a common fault, but check those edges on any cars you look at. The mid-spec  models add air-con, electric windows and alloy wheels, so check the air-con is working, and also what state the alloys are in. The original wheels aren't great, they are prone to corrosion.