i30 Owners Club

Poor Fuel Consumption

Lofty UK · 65 · 21387

Offline Lofty UK

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Sussex
My i30 1.6 CRDi was purchased new in October 08 and it is a great little car except that I am only getting 45mpg - yet combined published figure is 60.1mpg. I've not done the Ozzie conversion to litres yet but it sounds as though some of you are having the same problem, yet others are doing 70mpg+! I am an economical driver and got 48mpg out of my previous Renault Laguna (v. published 51mpg) which is very fair (but had done 27k miles when I got it).
Apart from tyre pressures, can anyone say if there is any hope I will ever get near to the 60mpg claimed? My dealer says to bring it in when it has done 4k miles if no better. It has now done 2700 miles. There don't seem to be too many owners forums in the UK yet.

Offline Shambles

• Admin

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Hiya Lofty - welcome to the i30owners club

Before I fitted a tuningbox I was getting just over 59mpg. Now I get 62+mpg.

Your figure of around 45mpg doesn't sound quite right; your economy should be better than that. How are you measuring it? If you've only done 2700 miles have you tried resetting the consumption meter and starting afresh from the next fillup?
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Lofty UK

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Sussex
My last post does not seem to have worked so apologies if I repeat myself!
I have tried the trip - usually every 4 weeks in line with expense claims for work. Receipts calculated since purchase verify the low mpg. I hope it wil improve with more mileage. its the only disappointment, othewise it is a great little car. 

Offline Shambles

• Admin

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Hey Lofty. As you're reporting a specific problem I split the posts from the generic fuel discussion thread.