Cycling: Groups call for action on 'car-dooring'

eye30 · 20 · 4108

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
A campaign to raise awareness of "car-dooring" is needed to save lives on Britain's roads, Cycling UK has said.

The campaign group says cyclists, motorcyclists and pedestrians are being injured and killed by drivers and their passengers carelessly opening doors.

It wants the Dutch reach - which involves opening doors with the "wrong" hand - to be taught to new drivers.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-41219977
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline andsome

• 4th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Burntwood, Staffordshire, UK
It is certainly a problem.  But so is the number of cyclists riding three or more abreast. Another problem with cyclists is riding on the footpath, especially when as most do these days, have no audible warning.  We have also had a problem when walking along a path in the countryside when cyclists come whizzing past again with no audible warning.  It should be compulsory to have a bell fitted or a small horn. Also there are far too many cyclists riding without lights and expecting motorists somehow to see them.  Rant over.   :disapp:
  • Not driving at present on medical grounds

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

I have a bell on my bike and most of the time when i ding it the pedestrians take no notice or if they do  they then walk across my path, no pun intended and have had a few near misses!!

Dog walkers are the best....... dog on lead.......they walk towards dog......dog walks towards master...... so they hsve just crossed sides........ i'm approaching with lead across path...... wham..........dog and master panic........

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
Bells are a legal requirement over here.