Australian girl, 8, dies after crashing drag race car

eye30 · 6 · 2937

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
After just reading a mention of drag racing in a post on here, i then came across this news story...

An eight-year-old girl has died after crashing her junior drag racing car on a track in Western Australia.

Anita Board was on a solo "test run" when her vehicle hit a concrete barrier at the Perth Motorplex, police said.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-australia-41964046
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Yeah it's quite a shock, the Board family are friends of friends who son and daughters also race juniors down at Motorplex, very sad times for the Board family :(

The silly thing is now the do gooders are all up in arms about kids of this age doing drag racing :rolleyes: it's probably one of the safest motorsports to be in and nothing like this has ever happened before, it's a great way of building family relationships - keeping kids out of trouble and making life long friends.

This accident is sadly going to affect the whole junior motoring organisation so hopefully they'll make a simple speed restriction from 96kph down to 70 or 80 for kids under 20 runs and not eliminate the junior sport altogether.

There isnt much else I can see that could have been done bar dropping speeds slightly :undecided:

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
I was shocked a child that age was involved in drag Racing. One of my old School mates was a motorcycle drag racer as was his wife and now his Daughter Zoe Nieuwhof is having quite a bit of success.

:link: Zoe Nieuwhof Spreads Her Wings

I am glad my Daughters aren't involved in anything that dangerous!   :crazy1: :sweating: