i30 Owners Club

2014 i30 Won't Rev, Down On Power - Manifold Cat Issue and Warranty Claims

Offline blake997

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      New South Wales
Hey all,

I've seen a fair few posts on this issue and had my own experience with it, so just thought I'd set the record straight on what is actually happening as there seems to be incomplete information getting around.

Background - I'm a vehicle builder by trade, and have quite a few years under my belt preparing and spannering on race cars and all things mechanical.

My daily is the 2014 i30 Active petrol, 6 speed manual. 185,000kms on the clock.

The car is great, really awesome chassis, if a very under-powered engine, and lacking a little on reliable and consistent build quality from the Koreans. (Dead head unit, dead wheel bearing, so on). Thankfully, pretty well designed and easy to work on. Nothing like the god awful Astra / Vectra from Holden.

Anyways:

Issue that presents itself on these cars / engines. -

Car gets hard to start, initially.

Car does not want to rev. Especially doesn't want to rev past 3,000rpm - 5,000rpm. First under load when driving, and then even in neutral.

Car seems like it is in a limp mode.

Car stutters and even conks out after revving. As if it is losing fuel or spark.

Car seems like it is down on power, runs rough.

Car functions somewhat like an engine that has worn valve springs.

Car functions like an engine with a bad or dirty MAP / MAF sensor.

NOW:

My i30 developed these issues over about a week or two, until I really got a chance to look at it. It was due for its 180,000 service, so I started doing the typical things just to check them off the list regardless.

Plugs, coils, injector service, new fuel pump and filter.

I wasn't having much success and the engine started throwing bad MAP sensor codes. So I proceeded to do the extra (as in extra expensive ancillaries).