i30 Owners Club

Fitting Honda Civic alloys

Offline StokeyBry

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Stoke on Trent United kingdom
Hey all, I am looking at fitting a set of Civic alloys to my 2013 i30 GD. The PCD of the alloys are the same and pretty much everything else except the center bore which is 64.1mm, whereas the i30 hubs are 67.1.
Would I be able to use a spacer on each wheel to get a flush fit therefore bypassing the center hub or is it best to have the hole widened by a machinist with CNC or a lathe?
  • I30 2013 GD 5 Door Hatchback Petrol 1.4 Manual Active

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Welcome.

An interesting scenario! I am no wheel expert but I think I can safely say no way would I use a spacer to push the wheel out further so it doesn't sit properly on the hub!  :crazy1:

As for machining the hole to make it bigger that would need to be done very accurately (could be hard) as if it were out by even a couple of millimetres could cause all sorts of issues. :sweating:

Have you got a photo be interested to see which wheel you are considering.  :cool:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
You’ll fail your MOT with wheel spacers :disapp: resizing the centre would be crazy imo as you’re messing with the structural integrity of how the wheel was cast.

When playing with wheels or suspension it’s either do it right or don’t do it at all...you don’t want anyone else or yourself being scraped of the road when a wheel fails on you :eek:
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 05:07:39 by CraigB »

Offline StokeyBry

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
Thanks for the replys, it's hard finding the right rim size that will fit unless you pay £500.

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Just be patient, something will pop up 2nd hand somewhere.