Drivers side wiper

eye30 · 9 · 2763

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
After 5 years the blade rubber has started to come away and i can see it won't be too long until it breaks aways from the rest of the rubber.

The wiper i have and presume all the same, the rubber is not a replacement only part so full unit will have to be bought.

Before i buy the full unit, rubber blade and housing, has anyone been able to just replace the rubber?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline chris_i30gd

• 3rd Gear

• gr Greece
      Greece
Yes I have replaced all the rubbers of all wipers of my i30 gd 2 months ago. (2 front and 1 back)
I am not expert at all and it was  easy. It cost me 3 euro for changing  all.
Is a 10 min work. The back was more difficult. It is working perfectly and silently as before.

You remove the wiper from the car so you can work with the wiper. The rubber is removable
There are many videos online that shows the procedure like this:

I bought  rubber by chance from a stock super market and they works perfectly.

Working great after 2 months :)
« Last Edit: August 05, 2017, 13:31:18 by chris_i30gd »
  • hyundai i30 1.4 crdi 2013

Offline nzenigma

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      QLD
Hi mate,   :) 5 years is a good trot!

The rubber sits in a stiff plastic base held in by a small chip at one end. It just slides in and out of the metal holder.
You will find new ones at your Supercheap type parts store. Just check the width of the plastic base, there are two sizes 6mm and 8mm from memory.
  • FD 2.0L CW (office); GD 1.8L & CRDi; BMW Z3 M; Audi A4 Quattro; Nissan 350Z HR

Offline nzenigma

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      QLD
chris is showing a slightly different style, that may be what you have in Europe. Same deal, easy as.
  • FD 2.0L CW (office); GD 1.8L & CRDi; BMW Z3 M; Audi A4 Quattro; Nissan 350Z HR

Offline tw2005

• Top Gear