i30 Owners Club

Clutch & Gearbox

Offline simowizard

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Cameron Park

• I love my SLX i30
Hi everyone. Just a quick question to try to get the knowledge before the service centre can tell me. I had my 2011 SLX i30 crdi serviced recently. It is the FD11MY model with the 6 speed manual transmission. When I dropped it off in the morning I mentioned that the friction point on the clutch seemed to be getting a bit high off the floor for my liking. Before anyone says "clutch riding", I am a truck driver for a living and change gears all day everyday in 12, 13 and up to 18 speed crash box (constant mesh or double clutch) gearboxes. That's not to say I double clutch my i30 which I don't as it can cause damage to the synchronising bands. I am also aware that being a hydrolic clutch, they cannot be adjusted, or so I was told by the service mechanic.
When I picked my car up from service, I was told that they would need to book my car back in as soon as possible as a "shudder" was detected or felt in the gearbox during a test drive. I was completely unaware of this. I was also told that they would need my car for a couple of days as the gearbox would have to come out.
Has anyone else had any similar issues that may be able to shed some light on what could be wrong? I'm not overly concerned as it will be with a Hyundai dealership service centre and the work is covered under my warranty. The good side is that they also stated that I get a loan car for free while my car is in repair. Here's hoping all will be ok. If no one has any info, I will post what the result was just in case someone else may strike the same issue.
Cheers and thanks in advance  :sweating: :sweating: :sweating:
  • 2011 (FD11MY) 2011 SLX CRDi six speed manual hatch

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia