i30 Owners Club

Fuel consumption

Raid · 15 · 5008

Offline Raid

• 4th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      London

• Nobody is perfect.
Hello how's it going everyone? Hope you all had a nice weekend. I'm just a bit concerned about the MPG it showing me in my dashboard its showing me 31.8 MPG is that right I think that's too low any idea or suggestions how can I improve it plz and I don't drive that hard either as I always change the gear when it shows on the dashboard any help plz
  • I30 active 1.4 petrol 2013

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
What type of driving have you done recently, town, motorway, stop start etc?

Did you reset when filling up?

At start did you fill to brim then fill to brim again to show fuel used?

Is calculated MPG the same as on board computer or is there a difference?
If so, what was calculated?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
Raid

You cannot assume the economy trip is accurate - none of my last 5 cars had an accurate trip recorder.

You also cannot assume that your odometer is accurate - my current car is 1.95% slow and my previous 4 cars were all inaccurate between 1.2% and 2.6% slow.
I check mine when on at least a 50 mile motorway journey by comparing the odo with the kilometer distance boards.  As you pass a kilometer board get your passenger to note the distance displayed and the odometer reading at the same time.  After travelling a long distance do the same for another distance board. It is then simple maths to determine the distance travelled according to the motorway boards (convert Kilometers to miles) and the distance given by the odometer. Express this as a percentage.