i30 Owners Club

Dashcam Installation - How I did mine.

MT-RED · 12 · 5484

Offline MT-RED

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Nottingham, England
I want to start by saying a massive thank you to all of you on there for the advise and assistance.

Dashcam
I decided to go for the Viofo A119 v2 (front only cam) as it seemed a really good camera for the funds I had available to invest at this time. I decided on the one with GPS and the Anti-glare filter.

Memory Card
I went with the VIOFO 64GB High Speed MLC Micro SDXC U3 Memory Card (lets hope this is ok long term). I purchased this card from Amazon UK. ( :link: VIOFO 64GB High Speed MLC Micro SDXC U3 Memory Card: Amazon.co.uk: Camera & Photo)

Hardwire Kit
I went with a kit in the end to hard wire as it had everything I needed in one purchase, wasn't too expensive and I am an amateur so wanted the easy route  :D - this kit I personally went with was also from Amazon UK ( :link: SHISHUO Dash Cam Hardwire Kit - Mini USB and Micro USB: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics)

My Installation

1) Checking the Camera & Card

So first thing first I wanted to test the camera and memory card itself and upgrade the firmware on the device if required.

Having checked the firmware of my device I was happy that I didn't need to do anything further here as it was already on the latest firmware version.

Next to test the camera functionality and memory card all I did was simply by insert the memory card and then plug it into a USB charger in the house and then let it record for a while. Having done this I then removed the micro SD card and checked the video playback on my PC.

All was fine therefore I was happy the camera & card worked so I could move ahead with the install to the car.

2) Connecting hardwire kit to fuse box

Now a few of the guides I have seen online start with the camera positioning and then running the cable down to the fuse box and connecting up.