i30 Owners Club

I30 Purchase

Offline Rusty89f

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Hunter valley
Hi everyone.

Looking to purchase my first I30. 2008 SX 2.0L petrol. 230,000km
Regularly serviced. Timing belt done at 100k and 200k. Country driving and one owner.

Im worried about the amount of kms. I only plan to drive this for a few years till i save up and buy a newer model. Your opinions and advice would be muchly appreciated

Thanks. Russ
  • I30 2008

Offline tw2005

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      Ipswich
Hi everyone.

Looking to purchase my first I30. 2008 SX 2.0L petrol. 230,000km
Regularly serviced. Timing belt done at 100k and 200k. Country driving and one owner.

Im worried about the amount of kms. I only plan to drive this for a few years till i save up and buy a newer model. Your opinions and advice would be muchly appreciated

Thanks. Russ
What sort of advice are you after? have you driven it? Is it manual or auto?

My background is with the diesels and one of those with those K's if highway and well serviced the motor would be good for another 200000k.

A highway car should have less wear than a city vehicle.

Here's my list of common items that may need attention with those K's. Keep in mnd all cars suffer wear and tear and at some point maintenace will be required if you like things right.

Rear shocks - I've had these get weak and result in the inner edge of the tyre being squared off like a 50c piece. Tyre will be noisey if this has happened.

Front arms - the bushes can fatigue, crack and separate from the arms

Sway bar bushes - can become hard and noisey or with extreme mileage  become oversized to the point the sway bar knocks.

Sway bar links can also wear and knock, I've yet to have that.

Strut mounts may start to knock - no issues yet for me