Do you mean a dump valve?
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
What's a dump valve - is it something on a commode?
  • 2021 KIA Niro3 1.6 petrol Hybrid

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Look at this link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boost_controller

A boost controller is a device to control the boost level produced in the intake manifold of a turbocharged or supercharged engine by affecting the air pressure delivered to the pneumatic and mechanical wastegate actuator.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline perakharimau

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Newcastle
I guess nobody has then.... not sure you could make use of a ebc anyway as the i30 has no wastegate to delay the open of.

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
Glad Alan dint know what they were, cos that's two of us  :rofl: :rofl:

Offline alexeiw123

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Port Macquarie
Just my two cents here, using a tap to limit the pressure to the wastegate actuator is a very cheap and dodgy method of increasing boost pressure, and one that I would avoid on ECU controlled turbo vehicles. the ECU is measuring air flow, fuel flow, Oxygen levels, temperatures, boost levels and god knows what else and working to keep it at a happy harmony. It may work flawlessly, but you do run the risk of boost spikes and throwing out the air/fuel ratio to something to lean, which can quickly wear out your internals.

If you really want to increase your boost I'd recommend using an electronic boost controller, or better yet, if the ECU supports it, having it mapped/chipped to run more boost.