i30 Owners Club

I30 swap to 2.2 crdi

Offline Dragon rider

• 1st Gear

• ma Morocco
      CASABLANCA
Hello there! I'm the proud owner of a Hyundai i30 2008 1.6 CRDI -DIESEL- recently a cousin of mine crashed his santa fe and is giving it away, I'm thinking full swap 2.2 crdi engine with the gearbox and all, 4WD, suspension and brakes. I'm from morocco where Hyundai isn't that popular. so, any guidance.. is it possible to do it ? I'm not a mechanic but i'm willing to work on it.. I know the basics.
  • a 2010 HYUNDAI I30

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
You might get the engine to fit...maybe :undecided: but I cant see how you would get the 4WD system hooked up without serious $ for body/chassis modifications.

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
The implant of the 2.2 Crdi into an i30 is something many have dreamed of on here, but it won't be easy I suspect. Different size/class of car so I would expect mounting points to be different etc. Also, I would imagine the connection of Transmission to engine would be different size as well. :crazy1: (This is a non-mechanic speaking of course)

As Craig says, switching the running gear over to 4WD will be near impossible without body mods.

The other consideration is if the donor car is damaged enough for him to be giving it away how many of the parts you want to cannibalize are damaged? (possibly internally)  :undecided:

Sorry, great idea but nearly impossible in my honest opinion.  :Pout:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline The Gonz

• Admin
  • Afghanistan Vet

• au Australia
      Adelaide

• Callsign GUNZ
If you can't find an example of that configuration from the manufacturer or anywhere else on the internet, it will be impossible*.

* affordably
  • Frugal Firty: FDSLXCRDi5spHyperSilverBodyKit+Mods & MrsG'sPDSRPrem

Offline mickd

• V.I.P