The i30 Owners Club

HOW TO: FD Body - Remove/Replace/Swap OEM (2DIN) headunit

ibrokeit · 40 · 27452

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Offline Fury

  • 2nd Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 23

    • au Australia
      NSW
I looked into getting something similar, in the end, I just purchased the "Aerpro"  surround to suit the screen 7" screen. its a universal kit and just cut a hole in the existing dash.

I figured if I stuffed it , I would just get a replacement from a wreck
  • 2009 FD SR 5 Door Hatch, petrol 2.0lt, Auto, Red


Offline ibrokeit

  • V.I.P
  • *
  • Author of War & Peace
    • Posts: 1,575

    • au Australia
      Brisbane
Cheers for the reply, I've got a kmart dongle thats doing the job, charge port is on the back though so hard to mount anywhere semi permanent.  Might trawl ebay for one with a side charge port and double side tape it somewhere more suitable.

I can confirm as per The Gonz advice - I did it myself in my old FD i30.  Basically a plug and play swap (assuming your factory head-unit isn't an PA-760 - the FD-01 apparently can't replace the PA-760... something to do with an amp).

There was a text write up here about swapping - :link: Hi & Swap out of I30 Stereo. - I added comments (apparently) pointing to topics which included how to calculate the lock-code and adjust a setting or two.
  • 2019 i30 N-Line Premium (previously 2010 i30cw SLX (Auto) Petrol 2.0L)


Offline diggins

  • 1st Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 1

    • Melbourne
I have a 2009 FD in Australia, I'm thinking of swapping out the radio for one from a wrecked 2011 model that has factory bluetooth.  Seems to me it would be a simple straight swap, anyone know for sure?
Thanks.

Hey yeah i gave this a go. I swapped it out and had to pay a dealership $60 for a security code, and all of that worked out. but there was no sound coming out of it. the guy at the dealer thought it couldve been a broken radio. So I mean it might work but i would say try to test the radio works first before paying to get the code.
  • 2009 SR i30


Offline siri30

  • 1st Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 1

    • au Australia
      Hoppers Crossing,Melbourne
Hi there I am trying to get my steering wheel controls to work just wondering if I am doing it right I believe that it is the two lower pins on the green plug is that correct I’m trying to wire in a kenwood dpx-5200bt, it has three wires  thank you for your help

« Last Edit: June 20, 2020, 02:12:51 by siri30 »
  • 2010 FD 5 Door Hatch, Petrol, 2.0lt , Manual , Red


Offline ibrokeit

  • V.I.P
  • *
  • Author of War & Peace
    • Posts: 1,575

    • au Australia
      Brisbane
I have a 2009 FD in Australia, I'm thinking of swapping out the radio for one from a wrecked 2011 model that has factory bluetooth.  Seems to me it would be a simple straight swap, anyone know for sure?
Thanks.

Hey yeah i gave this a go. I swapped it out and had to pay a dealership $60 for a security code, and all of that worked out. but there was no sound coming out of it. the guy at the dealer thought it couldve been a broken radio. So I mean it might work but i would say try to test the radio works first before paying to get the code.

I hate to tell you this... and I mention it more to warn others... sorry....

The Security Code can be calculated for free - see :link: FD-01 Headunit - Priced New

And if the S/N on the outside of an FD-01 (the one with factory bluetooth) unit is gone - it is also stuck inside the lid of the unit (as per a couple of posts further down the thread).
  • 2019 i30 N-Line Premium (previously 2010 i30cw SLX (Auto) Petrol 2.0L)


Offline Fury

  • 2nd Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 23

    • au Australia
      NSW
UPDATE:
I just realized that I never posted pics of the install.

I have discussed with a lot of people who don't want to cut into their dash, to do a conversion like this, but I figured that as a screen trim was available, it must be ok. Also, if there was an issue, or if I wanted to take it out, I could always get a new radio / ac dash center from a wrecker at a minimal cost.

To get a screen, the "capacitive" touch screen was definitely worth the extra money, because the screen is in the sun a lot of the time and a std screen in my previous car, the display almost disappeared in direct sunlight.

The Kenwood unit ticked the boxes for wireless screen operation for phone, music, navigation etc, does support screen mirroring as well. I have found I plug it in when on a longer trip, as the phone battery gets used up pretty quick.

We also have 2 phones that link , with a "primary" phone, but easy to use.

Overall, very happy with this unit, which makes legal phone use easy, the screen mirroring I only use occasionally and don't use social media on this, but weather or other useful stuff is available.

I'm gradually getting the "upgrades " done so the car remains current with the convenient and legal options of 2020 vehicles.







  • 2009 FD SR 5 Door Hatch, petrol 2.0lt, Auto, Red


Offline LTM91

  • 1st Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 2

    • gb United Kingdom
      East cowes

Offline Fury

  • 2nd Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 23

    • au Australia
      NSW
Hi where did you buy this?
I'm in Australia and purchased it at "Autobarn" chain automotive stores, the dash surround was from Aerpro (brand), the head-unit, a Kenwood wireless Iphone/ android auto, reverse cam, BT (7" screen) capacitance screen , to be clear in direct sunlight. still very happy with  it, and integrated into the existing amp .

I did cut the existing dash, the surround is just a fascia kit for the unit. I figured I could always get a replacement if I changed the head-unit before selling etc... but this did substantially upgraded the car to more modern specifications.
  • 2009 FD SR 5 Door Hatch, petrol 2.0lt, Auto, Red


Offline scaryquokka

  • 1st Gear
  • *
    • Posts: 1

    • au Australia
      Sydney
G'day there,
I was reading your post that you were able to keep the factory amp and use the an aftermarket head unit, in your FD i30 SR. I would really grateful for any tips on how to trigger the amp unit, and if you had to wire the line outs rather than use the amplified speaker lines? I'm hoping to wire up my Sony XAV-AX5000 into my wifes SR. Ive got the aero CHKI9C prewired loom

Cheers!
Paul (Penrith, Sydney)

Yeah, Baby... It lives!

Kenwood DMX 8019DABS, installed, rear camera, maybe front camera soon, HDMI, screen mirroring, front and rear dash cams.

The Capacitive screen is awesome and looks really neat integrated into the dash... really happy.  :goodjob: :goodjob:  :victory:  :happydance: Modern factory look, better than photos... Its also a much better screen in the sun, than my previous cheaper screen, that just lost all definition and just reflected sunlight.

Took more effort than expected, as the fitment instructions needed tweaking and the size of the unit, left little space for the loom and all the extra peripheral wiring. Plan B on camera install as the head unit recommended power supply, was too low to power the camera.  (it has several camera options, but so far I have only used the auto-reverse camera)
The factory amp works with the new head unit, I was going to bypass it, but I thought that unless I upgraded the speakers, the power of the amp would probably be fairly well matched to the original setup. It's pretty good for what I need.

Thanks to Dazz - the sticky FD audio wiring diagrams, ... and my multimeter! would have been impossible without them... :goodjob2:
  • FD i30


Unread Posts

 


SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal