i30 Owners Club

2010 HYUNDAI I30 STEERING HEAVY EPS & ESP LIGHT OFF ARE SHOWING

Offline Chouhdry123

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
Hello guys i am new to the topic sorry if i miss something out,

I have a 2010 HYUNDAI I30 AUTOMATIC 1.6 PETROL.

The steering on my car has gone really heavy, the EPS light is showing on the dashboard. The ESP OFF light is also showing on the dashboard. I plugged in my £10 OBD Tool and it was showing no error/fault codes. Tried all the techniques such as moving the steering wheel left 360* and then right etc.. Disconnected battery for a while...

Nothing fixed it.

Any help would be appreciated.
  • 2010 HYUNDAI I30 AUTOMATIC 1.6 PETROL

Offline tw2005

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      Ipswich
your cheap OBD tool is unlikely able to access the steering system, we had a recall over here for models around 2010 for potential steering power assistance failure.

If the unit is dead, a used one from a wreck is likely cheapest option.

Hyundai recalls FD i30 and HD Elantra models due to risk of losing steering assistance.

The Hyundai i30 and Elantra are being recalled due to a potential electric power steering fault that could increase the steering effort required to control the car, which could be hazardous.

If the problem occurs, Hyundai advises that an electronic power steering (EPS) light will illuminate on the vehicle’s dashboard.

The vehicles affected were sold in Australia between the start of November 2009 and the end of April 2010.

More specifically, the recall affects Elantras with VINs (Vehicle Identification Number) ranging between KMHDU41DAAU929998 and KMHDT41B9BU084665. The i30 VINs affected range between KMHDC81TMAU064300 and KMHDC51TMAU267226.
  • i40 Premium Tourer, FD i30CW SLX CRDi FD i30 CRDi SX , Welly, SANTA CLAUS

Offline Chouhdry123

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
There was a recall here in the UK for the Hyundai i30 FDE.

It was saying something about the steering assistance being lost.