i30 Owners Club

Glow plugs might be broken, Car starts very hard in winter, waiting doesnt help

Offline Neversleep

• 1st Gear

• ro Romania
Hello everyone, I'm new to the club and I'm happy that i could join. :D
The things is , I already have a question for you, fellow i30 owners. I own (as my description says) a 2014 i30, 1.6 crdi (diesel), 5door wagon, (the 110bhp engine model). As I'm not a mechanic or anything close to it I don't know if I have a problem with my car's glow plugs or they should be just like this. My car starts very hard in the winter (in Romania around -5 to -10 degrees Celsius), even if i wait more than 10 minutes with my ignition(key position) ON . Many people told me that I should wait 2 to 3 minutes or less for my glow plugs to do the magic and warm the engine chamber to a temperature that helps the car start normally, this being shown by the glow plug indicator in the dashboard(the indicator should turn off when the chamber warmed up enough)... The thing is that my glow plug indicator turns off imediately after turning the ignition on(1 or 2 seconds after), leaving me to think that they might not work properly... So i have to try to start the car like 2 or 3 times before it acually starts. It doesn't even have to be -5 degrees outside .. Anywhere between -10 and +5 degrees celsius the car has a hard time starting up with no signs of the glow plugs helping me at all , no mater how much i wait (even 10 minutes).
So my question is:
 Do i need to go to the service , so an authorized mechanic could take a look or not? Or can it be solved at home by replacing something?
If anyone could help me, I would appreciate it very very much.
(Ps: sorry for the long text but i tried to decribe every detail that could help in solving the problem) Cheers! Have a good day!!
  • 2014 I30 5-door wagon, diesel 1.6 crdi, manual, grey

Offline Shambles

• Admin

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
 :wttc: