i30 Owners Club

Cabin fumes

android · 14 · 5513

Offline android

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Sinny, Straya

• Sinny, Straya
I have a 2008 diesel with 60000 km on the clock. About a month a go it was getting hard to start so I took it back to the dealer and they replaced the glow plugs and put in a new battery. Problem fixed...it now starts perfectly...but, ever since then (for about a week now) what smells like exhaust fumes have been coming out of the air vents when the car is stationary (i.e. no fumes when the car is moving). The fumes go away when I press the recirculate button.

So I took it back to the dealer who looked at it for half an hour and said they can't find the problem and suggested it might be some oil on a hot part, so just let it burn off over a few weeks. Sounded reasonable, but the smell is really bad (not like burning oil and probably unhealthy) so I opened the bonnet myself to see if I could see anything amiss. I'm not a mechanic so that was a forlorn hope  :D. Anyway, as luck would have it, I did find something: the driver's side front bolt holding the engine cover down was sheared off - just lying loose in its well  :Shocked:

I'm guessing that the engine cover would need to come off to change the glow plugs, but if it wasn't then bolted back on firmly, would that cause exhaust gases to leak into the engine bay and then somehow get sucked into the cabin?

Pip
Welcome to the forum.
Loose cover will not be the problem but I'm thinking if they broke that they might have stuffed something else. Take it back.

Offline 2i30s

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      Hampton Park,Vic
welcome to the forum android.  :razz:  I'm with pip on the matter ,take it back and let the dealer fix it.  :idea:
a split injector O ring could be the cause of the smell in the car,it only needs one injector leaking a small amount of fuel and burning on the exhaust manifold.  :winker: :razz:
  • 2009 manual sx hatch and 2009 automatic sx cw. both 2.0 petrol.