i30 Owners Club

80A glow plug fusible link blown. Again.

Offline fifthwheel

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Australia
Hi. I'm new to diesel and to the i30 but heard many good things about it so I bought a 2008 1.6 CRDi with 87 megameters on the clock.

Problem:
White / blue smoke emitted from exhaust on start. Persists until engine is warm (about 30 seconds).
Also rough idle on start. Persists until engine is warm.

Observations:
80 amp glow plug fusible link blown.

Testing and diagnosis:
Checked continuity of plugs using multimeter set to measure resistance. All readings below 1 Ohm.
Checked potential between fuse box terminal (not connected to number 1 glow plug) and battery. Reading is 12.7 volts.
Glow plug relay tested for continuity using a 12 volt source to close the relay 'switch'. Relay performs normally.
Replaced 80A fuse (twice).
Connected relay pins to multimeter. See diagram.

Ignition switch set to 'lock', potential reads 12.7 volts. Switch to accessory (AKA acc) reading is 12.7 volts. Switch to 'on', reading is 0 volts. Stays at zero volts until switch to 'start' then reading is 13 to 14 volts. 80A fuse is hot!
Fuse may not last many more starts. See picture.

Thanks in advance for your help!
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 08:07:49 by fifthwheel »
  • 2008 Hyundai i30 1.6 CRDi

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
 :welcumwagon:

With all that info (well done) hopefully one of our honorary Technical advisors (or other friendly members) can advise.

I'll summon them and hope they are not busy!

@cruiserfied @nzenigma @tw2005
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline tw2005

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      Ipswich