i30 Owners Club

Hyundai i30 2014 installing aftermarket HU

VTH · 16 · 15364

Offline VTH

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Australia
Hi all,

My first post. I'm not very car savvy but recently just purchased a Hyundai i30 2014 Trophy and I'm looking at replacing the factory HU with an aftermarket one. I've never done something like this before so it's a little bit daunting. I've read ibrokeit's thread on the topic but I'm still completely lost at the wiring stage.

This is a picture of my car's centre console attached. The head unit is a GD-01.

This is the aftermarket head unit I'm looking at purchasing, not confirmed but it'll be similar. Please note it comes with two harnesses as shown near the bottom of the listing.

:link: JOYING Newest RAM 2GB ROM 32GB Factory CD Player Replacement New Android 5.1.1 Lollipop System PIP Auto Radio 7 Inch Double 2 Din HD 1024*600 Resolution

I should have no problems removing the factory HU and locating the correct fascia.

My biggest concern is the wiring steps. My basic understanding is that I will use the harness that comes with the aftermarket HU and plug the connector end into the HU and at the other end I will need to wire this to another seperately bought harness and then plug this connector to the car. I'll need to ensure the harness is compatible with the car.

My car has steering wheel buttons so I will need to somehow get this to work with the aftermarket HU aswell.

Questions:

- The aftermarket HU comes with two harnesses. What are the differences and which one do I use?
- Can someone link me to a compatible hyundai harness that will work with my scenario.
- I'm confused at which plugs go into which end.
- Do I need a steering wheel adapter and where does this plug into?

Apologies if this may seem straight forward for many of you here but it's quite confusing for me :D Any help will be greatly appreciated!
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 03:11:20 by AlanHo »
  • 2014 i30 Trophy

Offline mickd

• V.I.P

• au Australia