i30 Owners Club

How can I disable the ABS & TCS in a 2012 Elantra Touring?

Offline Bnystrom

• 2nd Gear

• us United States
      Nashua, NH
This is the first vehicle I've owned with ABS/TCS and I absolutely hate it. Aside from the fact that it's incredibly annoying when it activates, it eliminates my ability to feel the road surface when braking or accelerating. Is there a way to disable this horrible system?

I've been driving for 40+ years in snow and ice and have never needed ABS/TCS, so please don't lecture me about the wonders of modern automotive electronics. I know how to handle these conditions and having a computer separate me from the road is not beneficial.

Thanks

Brian
  • 2012 Elantra Touring SE, gas 2.0L, manual, gray

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Traction control on/off should be a button on dash below stereo (unsure of US vehicles), ABS cant be disabled.

If you didn't want modern safety features why buy a modern car  :confused:

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
On my right hand drive car, uk, tc on off button is by my right knee, just below the steering wheel
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Bnystrom

• 2nd Gear

• us United States
      Nashua, NH
Thanks, I'm aware of the TCS switch, but it resets itself every time you turn off the ignition.

FWIW, ABS is mandatory on all new cars here and has been for a while; I had no choice in the matter.

I found the 10A fuse marked "ABS" under the hood (#13 in the diagram in the box). Pulling that fuse disables the ABS/TCS, exactly as I hoped. When braking or accelerating on a loose surface, it feels like a "normal" car, which is a relief. I can finally feel what's going on at the road surface.

However, it has some other side-effects:
  • The ABS, TCS and Brake lights on the dash come on. I expected the first two, but not the Brake light.