i30 Owners Club

i30 PD active LED headlights

nogun · 275 · 55995

Offline nogun

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Victoria
Hi all

I'm a newbie here, just got my active and am quite impressed with how featured it is for the base model. The only thing that has irked me so far is the colour difference between the daytime LED strip and the nighttime driving lights. I installed high temperature H7 halogens but they just don't cut it.

After reading through a few pages here and on other sites it seem that LED lights need a power adapter (i am guessing the 55W socket just won't do) and the space is very limited. Some people mentioned that the dust cap needs to be cut.

Just wondering if anyone has had experience with swapping these out? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
  • i30 PD active 2.0L

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
I was planning on eventually doing mine with the JTX bulbs though the current police blitz here on vehicles with non factory headlights have given me second thoughts.

No power adaptor is necessary with these bulb as they use 50W though depending on how your bulbs are secured (lock spring or power plug) you might still require an adaptor to secure the bulb if its locked in with the power plug.

:link: 1 pr H7 JTX LED Globes Bulbs 12v 24v 6000 Lumen 50w | eBay

Offline Crustycottage

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Australia, Perth
I was planning on eventually doing mine with the JTX bulbs though the current police blitz here on vehicles with non factory headlights have given me second thoughts.
Not heard about this WA crackdown mate, my LED indicators are certainly attention grabbing  :sweating:
  • 2017 PD SR 5 Door Hatch, Petrol 1.6lt Auto, Blue

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Not heard about this WA crackdown mate, my LED indicators are certainly attention grabbing  :sweating:
You'll be right, they're only concentrating on the low beam head lights :goodjob2: