i30 Owners Club

EMPTY !!! coolant expansion tank

KKOM · 18 · 10916

Offline KKOM

• 2nd Gear

• gr Greece
      Heraklion
As the title of my topic I figure out tha it was EMPTY !!!
Did any one knows what type of specific type of radiator fluid I can use and when it is better with cold or warm engine to add?

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
It details coolant in my Handbook.

If not detailed ask at the Hy dealers because if you add the wrong type of antifreeze it may interact with that already in the radiator and cause a problem with the system.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

• Midlands, UK N-Line T-GDi
Add when cold ideally. Best place to buy antifreeze is at your dealer to make sure it's the same as that in the car already, as already said.

Personally I would be cheeky and turn up at the dealer's repair bay and ask what you need to add - chances are they might top it up for you. even if there is a small fee it will probably be less than buying a bottle.

Check for leaks too!

Offline KKOM

• 2nd Gear

• gr Greece
      Heraklion
Add when cold ideally. Best place to buy antifreeze is at your dealer to make sure it's the same as that in the car already, as already said.

Personally I would be cheeky and turn up at the dealer's repair bay and ask what you need to add - chances are they might top it up for you. even if there is a small fee it will probably be less than buying a bottle.

Check for leaks too!
The hall tank is empty...With engine cold I checked the main radiator hose and it is full.
And the thing is that the thermometer gauge doesnt show any difference to higher...

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

• Midlands, UK N-Line T-GDi
Just fill it as soon as possible, a quick visit to the dealer.

Pip