i30 Owners Club

Rim's And Tyres

awj2005 · 16 · 6332

Offline awj2005

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Busselton
Hi
i have 17 inch rims and tyres on my car but if i have to much weight on one side of my car my right wheel is scraping and hitting the gaurd each time and its only that side. i have had the rear end re done twice and it still does the same. the tyres on it atm are 235/45 R17 would it be better going for a smaller tyres eg 245's??

any information will help.

cheers
ash

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Quote from: "awj2005"
Hi
i have 17 inch rims and tyres on my car but if i have to much weight on one side of my car my right wheel is scraping and hitting the gaurd each time and its only that side.

Are they factory fitted?
If so go back top dealer for them to sort out

i have had the rear end re done twice

What have you had re done twice????
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Hi
i have 17 inch rims and tyres on my car but if i have to much weight on one side of my car my right wheel is scraping and hitting the gaurd each time and its only that side. i have had the rear end re done twice and it still does the same. the tyres on it atm are 235/45 R17 would it be better going for a smaller tyres eg 245's??

any information will help.

cheers
ash

Hi Ash,

Sounds like a width issue. Thought standard width as per factory wheels on SR (215) yours are 2 Cm wider ....245 are wider still could make problem worse?
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Ian

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Adelaide
Hi Ash
I have got 215/45 ZR17 on my car and have no problems with rubbing,even with a boot ful of lugage and 4 of us in the car.Yours are probably a bit wide.
cheers Ian