i30 Owners Club

Paul Wakeling Hyundai - Sydney NSW

Offline edagrade

• 3rd Gear

• nz New Zealand
      Canterbury
I have just recently had the 12mth service done on my i30 by Paul Wakeling Hyundai. I bought the vehicle from them new 12 months ago.
I have to say the service experience was very good.
My context is that I have been servicing my own vehicles personally since 1979, & worked in the automotive service industry since. So for me entrusting my vehicle to a dealership was quite an anxious step to take.
I found the dealership went about their job well & their followup processes (personal discussion with service manager) was outstanding. The dealership were good to work with & seem to be doing what they should without cutting too many corners.
I highly recommend them as a dealership  :)

Into the bargain, I ended up having satnav updated all the way to 2015Q3, but my vehicle was not able to work with the new Android Auto app thing, so I missed out there - though I don't think that is a big deal for me in reality.
While the satnav update is included as part of the deal with purchasing & servicing through the Hyundai Dealer network, the updates are a little behind. For example, my Garmin portable navigator I use in my company car has just been updated (for free) with what they call a 2017-3 update lol.
How much variance there is in mapping detail & accuracy between the i30 nav & the Garmin nav is hard to qualify, but the way the updates are named makes the i30 update seem second rate!
  • 2015 GD 5 Door Hatch, Petrol 2.0L GDI, Auto, SR Premium, Creamy White

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Great feedback thanks. Because they rely on customised 3rd party maps in most instances, all the major manufacturers seem to be behind with their nav updates. My Holden is worse. These still wasn't a single update for my 2014 Calais Nav as of mid 2016 (my last 45k service)!