i30 Owners Club

Guide for GD aftermarket wheels

emi.b · 3 · 2354

Offline emi.b

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Hi everyone,
I'm new to all this tyre and rim fitting and I would like some guidance and advice.  I have a 2015 i30 GD active X and I wanted to change my wheels, I'd really love 18's - what do you guys think?  Am I dreaming too big? lol

What sizes do people usually go for on models like mine?
Or what size looks best?

Thank you in advance
  • 2015 i30 Active X GD, Petrol, Auto

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Hi emi.b, 18's fit on the GD and have the best look imo, you do lose a little ride comfort though and the smaller profile tyre will also transfer more road/tyre noise into the cabin so be aware of that if you go with 18's

18 x 8 rim will fit easily with a 225 x 40 x 18" tyre

17's might sacrifice a little for the look but gain points for ride comfort, all depends what you're after :)

« Last Edit: December 10, 2020, 08:16:57 by CraigB »

Offline TerryT

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Sydney, NSW
Hi emi.b, 18's fit on the GD and have the best look imo, you do lose a little ride comfort though and the smaller profile tyre will also transfer more road/tyre noise into the cabin so be aware of that if you go with 18's.  18 x 8 rim will fit easily with a 225 x 40 x 18" tyre

17's might sacrifice a little for the look but gain points for ride comfort, all depends what you're after :)

Agree totally with CraigB's assessment. 

My car has the oem 18" wheels with oem Hankook Ventus Prime 225/40R18 tyres.   I like the look of the oem 18" wheels on the car and the oem Hankook tyres are, imo, satisfactory for normal suburban driving in terms of handling in wet or dry.