i30 Owners Club

Complete audio overhaul help/ discussion

Offline bruster123

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      WA
G'Day all,
First off, this is my first time posting on the forum so be gentle.  :winker: :winker:

In a week (May 8th) I can finally get my P's, as a nearly 21 yo I'm a late bloomer when it comes to getting a license lol, but thats a story for another time.
I bought a 2009 Hyundai i30 SX from my parents (mothers old car, she now has a veloster!).

So, after a couple days searching all over this forum I have found extremely helpful things to do with a stereo overhaul.
As a poor uni student only doing 18hrs part time work I have decided to do a gradual overhaul to the stereo rather than a 'balls to wall' upgrade all at once.

This is my plan; along with questions I'd love to get answers to from this great community!

Part 1: Head Unit

So, to start; I have checked, double checked, and triple checked that a fascia I want to buy will fit in the car, specifically this one: (link below for the ebay page)
:link: Hyundai i30 08-11 Manual Double Din car stereo facia fascia kit dash panel trim | eBay

I plan on pairing it with the JVC KW-R920BT (link below too)
:link: JB Hi-Fi | JVC KW-R920BT Double DIN CD Player with Bluetooth

Now, first question, as a fairly budget double din stereo, do you think its a decent/ acceptable head unit? Keep in mind I didn't really want to go over $150AUD for the head unit.
The other option is this one (link below):
:link: JB Hi-Fi | Sony WX900BT 220W Double DIN CD Receiver with Bluetooth

Part 2: The Amp and Sub

Somewhere down the road I'll be installing a 4 channel amp and a sub.
Before I continue, I'll show the amp I want to get but I'm still unsure what subwoofer I want to get.