i30 Owners Club

Accelerator pedal response

Offline Krakrak

• 2nd Gear
I tried to search but found nothing on this subject.

Since new, my car (2011 Elantra Touring 2.0L engine with manual transmission) is very hard to drive at slow speeds, like in bumper to bumper traffic.

I've been driving for over 20 years, and it's my 10th car, all manuals, so it's not like I need to learn to use the clutch. I also ride a motorcycle almost everyday.

So the problem is that in the first millimiter of pedal travel, nothings happens. Then, suddenly the engine revs up to exactly 1500rpm. Even if I do it very very slowly and gradually, everytime it's nothing then vroomm! 1500rpm...

When I want to crawl forward at walking speed, I have to ride the clutch. And it's very hard to depress the clutch to slow a little, then match the revs to regain a little speed without a big lurch.

Or for example if I want to drive at 30km/h (speed limit in the local streets), I either have to stay in second gear and be at almost 3000rpms (noisy and tiring), or get it in third and having to let go of the accelerator from time to time because if I press it just enough to get some response it's already enough to accelerate beyond that speed.

I talked about that to my dealer, and I got the canned response of drive-by-wire accelerator delay computer blablabla.

Maybe I don't remember correctly, but I think I read that the Beta II engine still has a good old cable operated accelerator pedal. Looking under the hood, I can see the big vaccum operated cruise control thingy with cables going to / from it.

So, am I the only one with this problem? Is there something I can do about it? It's getting to the point that I dread any drive where I know I'll have to get into slow going traffic  :scared:

Offline Doggie 1

• V.I.P
  • Doggie Connoisseur

• au Australia
      Perth

• 2019 PD2 Go Petrol, Manual. 30,000 kms.
That doesn't sound good.