i30 Owners Club

CRDI suspected turbo failure only 53,000 ks

Offline heathejj

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
Hi, it's my first time posting... I have a 2011 I30 CRDI SLX 6sp manual with 53,000ks. Iv owned it 6 months and purchased it with no warranty :( Cars are my hobby (well 4x4ing) and I dare say I have my fair share of experience with a spanner. But this car is going to be the death of me, as off a few days ago i notice a whining sound from around 1700 rpm to about 3000 (bit too much engine noise to really hear it over 3k anyway), noise is at its loudest around 2200 ish. Heres a link to a similar video I found with the same noise (Note:mines not quite this loud yet). also feels like im loosing a little bit of power as if it wont boost as hard, was hardly able to overtake at 100kph with the ac on in 6th as i usually can. The noise is most obvious when cruising around 2200 to 2600 (normal driving range) and I dont thrash the car, though I do use its power to get me upto speed. Vehicle also has almost full service history and I serviced it upon purchase with 5-30 i think? fully synthetic..... I notice alot of oil under the pipe from the turbo to the airbox too (replaced this in the first week as the one on it had split where it clamps to the turbo)...Im worried the turbo has a failing bearing and Im not in the position to spend that sorta money on parts :(

Forgive the spelling and grammer, hope it all made sense- dyslexia got me good dispite multiple edits urghhh)

so any ideas what this may be would be really appreciated... I did have the exhaust unbolted a few weeks ago but i cant notice any leaks (though maybe gasket is leaking and making a noise)

:link: hyundai i30 1.6 CRDi turbo failure - YouTube   
  • i30 crdi 20122 SLX

Offline diesel1984

• 3rd Gear
53 k km and 2011 with blown turbo.

How many times did they changed oil? Probably first time at 1000km second at 30.000, and third.. well at 60.000??
  • 1.6crdi

Offline Dazzler

• Admin