Author Topic: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD  (Read 482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« December 08, 2018, 16:17:11 »
I just got the Torque Pro app, and I'm  having trouble connecting to the factory OBD (for Autolink) on the i30 PD.

Is it compatible with the factory OBD, or I'll need to get an aftermarket OBD?


  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #1 : December 08, 2018, 16:51:23 »
I just got the Torque Pro app, and I'm  having trouble connecting to the factory OBD (for Autolink) on the i30 PD.

Is it compatible with the factory OBD, or I'll need to get an aftermarket OBD?

I never thought of other apps connecting to the Hyundai supplied dongle! Mind you their own app refuses to work consistently with my Samsung S8!
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #2 : December 08, 2018, 17:03:03 »
Autolink is a little buggy (S8 as well), but if it stops working I just reconfigure it again which fixes most problems.

I am really keen to know if anyone has been able to hook up Torque Pro with the factory OBD dongle. Thanks.
  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #3 : December 08, 2018, 17:24:41 »
Autolink is a little buggy (S8 as well), but if it stops working I just reconfigure it again which fixes most problems.

I am really keen to know if anyone has been able to hook up Torque Pro with the factory OBD dongle. Thanks.

Cheers for that. i might have a play.  :cool:

Hopefully some others respond.  :goodjob:
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #4 : December 14, 2018, 00:02:12 »
Can anyone shed some light on this?
  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Posts: 8,994
  • au Australia
    Perth
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #5 : December 14, 2018, 01:08:18 »
I doubt very much you'll be able to pair 3rd party software with Hyundai specific software/tools, you will require the 3rd party OBD dongle to suit the App.

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #6 : December 14, 2018, 01:24:11 »
I doubt very much you'll be able to pair 3rd party software with Hyundai specific software/tools, you will require the 3rd party OBD dongle to suit the App.
I don't think they are very dear?  :undecided:
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Posts: 8,994
  • au Australia
    Perth
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #7 : December 14, 2018, 02:08:33 »
I don't think they are very dear?  :undecided:
I've seen on Ebay the Nextgate dongles from around $7,  better reviews for the VGate 4.0 dongles around $32 and compliant with the Torque Pro App.

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #8 : December 14, 2018, 03:58:38 »
Thanks all, I'm going to buy an OBD2 dongle and give it a go :victory:
  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #9 : December 14, 2018, 05:18:03 »
Thanks all, I'm going to buy an OBD2 dongle and give it a go :victory:

Please keep us posted in this thread. What phone do you have?

Ironic isn't it. Hyundai give you a free dongle with your car and a free app to monitor the health of your car but when there is a warm start issue or DCT glitch they struggle to register, let alone fix it!  :crazy1:
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #10 : December 20, 2018, 05:35:01 »
Thanks all, I'm going to buy an OBD2 dongle and give it a go :victory:

Please keep us posted in this thread. What phone do you have?

Ironic isn't it. Hyundai give you a free dongle with your car and a free app to monitor the health of your car but when there is a warm start issue or DCT glitch they struggle to register, let alone fix it!  :crazy1:

So I bought a cheap wifi OBD2 dongle (Topdon Automate), and after some fiddling with the adapter settings I got it to talk to Torque App! I using Samsung Galaxy S8.
  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #11 : December 20, 2018, 06:11:17 »
Thanks all, I'm going to buy an OBD2 dongle and give it a go :victory:

Please keep us posted in this thread. What phone do you have?

Ironic isn't it. Hyundai give you a free dongle with your car and a free app to monitor the health of your car but when there is a warm start issue or DCT glitch they struggle to register, let alone fix it!  :crazy1:

So I bought a cheap wifi OBD2 dongle (Topdon Automate), and after some fiddling with the adapter settings I got it to talk to Torque App! I using Samsung Galaxy S8.

Cheers! Have a play and let me know if it is worth it please. Is Torque App a paid app or free?
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • au Australia
    Australia, Perth, WA
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #12 : December 20, 2018, 21:07:56 »
There is a free version & also a paid pro version. The pro version is $5.     Also it only works on Android. So iPhone users, no luck..

Also you can hook it up via Android Auto to have the app come up on the cars screen. So you don't have to look at your phone.
You can customise what is shown.    I have a Huawai Mate 10. And I couldn't get that to work when I tried..
  • PD i30 SR Manual Phoenix Orange

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #13 : December 20, 2018, 21:51:07 »
Cheers Pete! :goodjob:
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Posts: 8,994
  • au Australia
    Perth
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #14 : December 21, 2018, 00:42:37 »
Two premium OBD2 diagnostic tools I've listed below, much more detail/options and the software is free as you're paying for a quality device.

The MX Android device can also be used with the Torque Pro app

For iOS and Android :link: BlueDriver OBD2 Scanner Review (2018 version) | Scanner Answers

For Android :link: ScanTool 426101 OBDLink MX Review | 2018 revised | Scanner Answers

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #15 : December 21, 2018, 00:54:43 »
 :Shocked:

As usual your advise is probably sound Craig, but way too fancy and expensive for me.  :snigger:

  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)

  • *
  • Posts: 8,994
  • au Australia
    Perth
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #16 : December 21, 2018, 01:06:37 »
Yeah they’re not the cheapest out there but they’re US made devices and not Chinese knockoffs  :)

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • au Australia
    New South Wales
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #17 : December 21, 2018, 01:59:43 »
There is a free version & also a paid pro version. The pro version is $5.     Also it only works on Android. So iPhone users, no luck..

Also you can hook it up via Android Auto to have the app come up on the cars screen. So you don't have to look at your phone.
You can customise what is shown.    I have a Huawai Mate 10. And I couldn't get that to work when I tried..

Yes I hooked it up to Android Auto with an app called OBD2 for AA (Torque plugin). You can customise what you want to see on the screen in real time. If you want to keep your internet streaming you might want to get a Bluetooth OBD2 module instead as wifi takes away your mobile network connection...
« Last Edit: December 21, 2018, 02:04:47 by mshk99 » »
  • MY17 i30 SR PD

  • *
  • Laughter is the best medicine. .
  • Posts: 62,329
  • au Australia
    Devonport Tasmania
  • Best Car Forum on the Net
Re: Connecting Torque Pro to OBD
« Reply #18 : December 21, 2018, 02:11:47 »
I assume you can get cheap Bluetooth OBD2 dongles as well? What made you go with the WiFi one?
  • MY18 PD SR & 2014 1.6 GDi Tourer (Prev had 2008  i30 CRDi & MY11 Petrol CW)