Author Topic: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?  (Read 1329 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • nz New Zealand
    Timaru
Hi

The Battery on my Daughters 2012 FD i30 is dead.  I'm about to go and change it.  On some modern cars you have to register the battery with the car so that the alternator charges it correctly.  Do you have to do this with my daughters FD?

Thanks

Murray


  • 2015 GD i30 1.6L CRDI  Wagon

  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • au Australia
    NSW
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #1 : December 04, 2020, 19:20:48 »
I did a Century battery fitment course for my employment and have never heard of and training didnt cover such thing either.

Edit - did some googling and seems like its a thing in Euro models - interesting. That concerns me about century's training course ahha

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • nz New Zealand
    Timaru
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #2 : December 04, 2020, 19:53:31 »
Yes, I also work on BMW's and the newer ones need the battery registered to the car, but only if you change the CCA rating between batteries.

Sound like it is not something to worry about with the Hyundai i30's
  • 2015 GD i30 1.6L CRDI  Wagon

  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • au Australia
    Sydney, NSW
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #3 : December 04, 2020, 20:10:41 »
Yes, I also work on BMW's and the newer ones need the battery registered to the car, but only if you change the CCA rating between batteries.


@ Muzz258. That is a handy thing to know.  Do you know what sort of change in CCA rating would trigger an issue, either expressed as a percentage (+/- of oem) or as a CCA value?

« Last Edit: December 05, 2020, 15:04:00 by TerryT » »
  • 2018  i30  PD  SR  Auto  1.6 Turbo   Hatch  (Sparkling Metal)

  • *
  • Posts: 695
  • fi Finland
    Helsinki
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #4 : December 04, 2020, 23:56:28 »
Some cars required coding the information to the battery management system. Capacity (Ah) and type of battery (flooded, agm etc) affect how alternator should work.

2012 FD is not that kind of car. Easy thing to change. Does the car have start/stop? If it does have start/stop then agm battery might be recommended. Or if it still has original battery just buy same type as the original (flooded or agm).
  • i30 cw 1.6crdi -08

  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • gb United Kingdom
    East Midlands
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #5 : December 06, 2020, 10:15:21 »
I've replaced batteries on both FD and GD cars without any issues. The main thing is to use an AGM battery if the car has auto stop-start. If you go on-line you will find manufacturers have selector guides to help pick the right battery for your car.

I changed the battery on my 2015 diesel but only because the dealer suggested the battery was starting to degrade (it was just over 3 years old). They proposed an Exide battery as a replacement but I declined it and fitted a Yuasa battery myself at less than half the cost. I kept the original Hyundai battery and lent it to someone with a 1.9 diesel Vauxhall Vectra. That battery has been in their car for over a year and is still working fine, which makes me question whether it really was degrading like the dealer claimed it was. The Yuasa failed after 6 months but was replaced under warranty.

On my 2011 diesel (without stop-start) the original battery failed after about 3 years, I then replaced with a Bosch battery (4 yr warranty). The Bosch battery started to fade after about 4 1/2 years, so changed again with a Yuasa this time.
  • i30 CRD

  • *
  • Author
  • Posts: 24
  • nz New Zealand
    Timaru
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #6 : December 06, 2020, 19:01:34 »
@ Muzz258. That is a handy thing to know.  Do you know what sort of change in CCA rating would trigger an issue, either expressed as a percentage (+/- of oem) or as a CCA value?

Sorry, can't remember the numbers.  I replace the battery with the same CCA and type (AGM/Flooded etc).  I don't have the software to do the battery registration and the like for like works without having to do a registration.


Thank you to all who have responded.  The battery in the FD has been replaced and all is working well.
  • 2015 GD i30 1.6L CRDI  Wagon

  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • au Australia
    Sydney, NSW
Re: Do you have to Register a new battery to the car on Huyndai's?
« Reply #7 : December 06, 2020, 19:07:52 »
@ Muzz258. That is a handy thing to know.  Do you know what sort of change in CCA rating would trigger an issue, either expressed as a percentage (+/- of oem) or as a CCA value?

Sorry, can't remember the numbers. 

@ Muzz258.  No problems.  Thanks for the reply.
  • 2018  i30  PD  SR  Auto  1.6 Turbo   Hatch  (Sparkling Metal)

 


anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal